hand cut dovetail tools

I do not under-cut the joint either. The following are photos of some of my previous dovetailed projects.

Through Dovetails – Layout. Through Dovetails – Chiseling the Waste. Sean Walker here on SimpleCove.com has built a beautiful version of a Moxon Vise. Make sure to have the show side facing you. I think I ended up with about 1/8" spacing, I'm not sure of the exact size, I just went with what I thought looked good. David Barron has been a big influence on me for cutting dovetails and has some wonderful YouTube videos on several different woodworking techniques including the Blue Tape Method that I use. Hand-cut dovetails were of course the fist thing I wanted to learn when I started my woodworking journey and that's what I started studying from the begining. Remove the blue tape from the waste areas and leave the keep sections covered.

It also keeps things from getting confusing.